I think I’m turning Japanese, I think I’m turning Japanese, I really think so …

Mainly because I’ve had no sex, no drugs, no wine or no women … but I have had a massage.

Regular readers of this blog will know that I like to try out a local massage when I travel. The previous 2 attempts haven’t been so successful. The one in Prague had me, clad only in my underpants, following the masseuse around the massage table then doing a clapping routine that I’m sure if I’d done it daily by now I’d have the back of a 20 year old. Of course I haven’t. The one before that was in India where modesty was not even an option and full nudity required. I was lubed up to the max and rubbed nearly all over. A tiny slip of the hands and I would have literally been rubbed outside and in.

Still being the intrepid traveller that I am I have persisted and booked a massage in the local stall which happens to be under our hotel and located kind of inside a supermarket. I had to fill out a questionnaire about my health and was asked if I had had alcohol. Strange question I thought but I’m not one to question the local requirements. Turns out she only wanted to know if I’d drunk alcohol that morning, not about the 75 pints I’ve had over the course of my visit while watching the rugby.
I was led behind the doorway curtain. What I thought might be little private rooms playing whale song (although, and I’m being a little political, the whales may not sing sweet tunes in Japanese waters, or in any waters near Japanese fishing boats). However there were not private rooms, there was one lounge sized room with a row of 5 low massage tables separated by 1/2 curtains (i.e. The curtains reached to midway at the table so if you were lying down and looked around you couldn’t see the person lying next to you. I was directed into a cubicle to change out of my clothes and into an endearing nylon, muddy green coloured pyjama type outfit.


I explained where my most achy bits were and lay face down. Turned out this was a shiatsu type massage. I was covered in towels and there was no skin on skin at all which left zero chance of me being accidentally penetrated which was a real concern in India. She worked her magic on me for an hour using pressure at various points and I walked out feeling very relaxed and moving a bit more freely.

I was now feeling match fit.
I came back to my room to get ready for the afternoon/evening. All Blacks top, black pants and black fern face stickers, what more could you want. I’d brought with me a bunch of those plastic bracelet things from home with Maori designs on them so I piled those on one arm with the idea to give them away to locals.
I met Murray and we tried to find his friend, Grunter, and his mob who had found a spot to watch the game on before hand and have a beer. We are lucky to be staying a 20 minute walk from the Stadium at the Shin Yokohama Prince Hotel. It’s only about a 5 min walk to the Shin Yokohoma train station and fans were piling out of the station to make their way to the ground.
The ground floor pubs were heaving with people gathering in crowds outside on the footpaths. The 7 Eleven’s etc … were doing a heaving trade in cans of beer. Eventually, after a set of The Amazing Race type cryptic clues from Grunter about where they were, his son came to find us. Tom took us to the high rise and we were transported up 5 floors and back in time. The restaurant was a large room divided up into a few sections. Each section had about 6 tables in the traditional Japanese style. We took off our shoes and put them in the shoe holder then lowered ourselves down to table level. The place was a shrine to Japanese karate type movies with posters all over the walls and hanging Japanese lanterns. The rugby was on TV, the beer was gold and lagery delicious and it was a great spot to hang out.



I ditched Murray and made my way to the stadium to meet up with a friend, KJ, who I hadn’t seen for many years. Everything flowed very freely wandering to the stadium and although there were the usual security checks the volunteers were all very smiley and friendly. We had awesome seats. I was in the first row on the top tier and we had the All Blacks running towards us in the second 1/2. It was a great atmosphere and the good guys won so can’t ask for much more than that!

Our whanau on tour, Jono, Sam, Phil (Kaz’s hubby and kids) and Murrays cuzzies Kaz and Vicky


The Locals were great, most had picked a team and wore the jersey. For the majority they chose the All Blacks. The Japanese have a great respect for the All Blacks and they way they conduct themselves. The All Blacks taking the time to go to all 4 sides of the stadium to bow in the traditional manner will only have endeared them further.

During the evening if I came across a local child in All Blacks kit I offered them one of my bracelets. They were so exited it was super cute. I also gave one to a guy sitting with his wife who was supporting SA. He reciprocated by giving me one of the mascot soft toys. One gorgeous wee boy had made origami cranes. On one wing had the NZ flag, the other the flag of Japan. So adorable!


Sunday
After a hearty hotel breakfast I headed out to Yokohama, was intending on checking out the fan zone but I got there at 10.30 am and it didn’t open until 12 pm so I ditched that idea and wandered around the Yokohama Bay area.


After a freshen up at the hotel it was time to build up to our 3rd game of rugby in 3 days, this time Scotland vs Ireland. I was backing my parents mother country, Scotland, but didn’t hold out too much hope that they could take it out.

Shin Yokohama was awash with green shirts and a multitude of kilts in different clan tartans. We ambled along to the stadium in time for kick off stopping to eat on the way.


Luckily we had seats undercover for the game as the rain came down towards the end of the match and those not as fortunate as us got drenched. We got drenched too as we made our way back to the hotel stopping at our new favourite spot (the place on the 5th floor) which have have named #5.

We ordered copious cold beers and pointed to photos of chicken on the menu and then played ‘Japanese menu roulette’ pointing randomly to a few items on the menu, which were all in Japanese, and confidentially saying ‘hi’ (yes). As well as the chicken nibbles and wings (which were delicious) I ended up with 1/2 a tomato sliced (?), some kind of omelette wrapped around something vegetable and tofu swimming in a type of gravy. Topped off another fun day in Japan.


Monday
Our last day is one free of rugby. After a leisurely start to the day Murray, Spy and I got the subway to Kannai and wandered to Yokohama’s Chinatown. It is huge and bustling and everything you’d expect from a Chinatown. Murray wandered off after a while and Spy and I feasted on a set menu lunch which was largely unidentifiable and way more food than I needed but very tasty.


Our time in Japan is coming to an end. It’s time to reflect and look at the PMI (positives, minus and interesting) for Japan.
Positives:

Efficient

Friendly people

Clean

Toilets are plentiful, space aged, clean and don’t cost anything

Tax free at a lot of shops with your passport and you get 8% off

Time zone is good, only 3 hours difference to NZ
Minus:
For me, food. Not my favourite. If you are a seafood lover this is the country for you.

Can’t really point fingers coming from NZ but the weather is a bit chaotic. We’ve had beating sun, steady rain and today a hot, hot howling wind

Traffic

Crowds, to be expected in such a densely populated area but I’m looking forward to having 1 metre space around me at all times for a while.
Interesting:
Little men in blue suits – keeping the country running at every intersection and reversing vehicle

The culture is ancient and fascinating. Wish I had more time to explore more of the country.

Ways they use space

– Turning circles to get cars into, lifted up to park, then dropped back down and turned the right way to get onto the street

– I saw a 3 story golf driving range. All three levels had a row of people all whacking golf balls into a netted area

How the country loves the All Blacks.
Japan it’s been brief this time, but I hope to be back!

Leave a comment

What day is it? Where are we?

September 2019
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30